/ Friday, July 19th, 2013

dolewhipsarevegan

There is not much more excited I could be right now. Well, unless you told me I was about to go to WDW….

The reason I am so excited is because I just found out (or by the time you read this post, I will have found out a few weeks ago) that the Dole Whips fruit flavors are now vegan. Now, if you told me I were about to go to WDW AND have a Dole Whip, I would absolutely flip! My head might even explode. When I first found out the news, I clenched my hands into fists and shook them up near my face and with a huge open mouth smile said “YES!!!!!!” (The picture to the left is a reenactment.)

If you don’t know what a Dole Whip is, let me explain: it’s a pineapple flavored sorbet in soft serve ice cream form (you can get it as is, or make it a float atop pineapple juice) that you can find in two locations in the WDW resort; Aloha Isle Refreshments in the Adventureland section at the Magic Kingdom theme park, and, appropriately, at Captain Cooks in the Polynesian Resort. So, now that you know where to find them, go gorge yourself on these little goodies, I know I will!

_

Angie has been a WDW addict since her first visit at age 8, and since then her life has never been the same! She lives in New Bedford, MA with her 3 dogs, Flip, Josie, and Hildy, where she currently owns Zen Dog Training and is a professional dog trainer.  Please join Angie every week in “Fish Are Friends, Not Food: Eating Vegan in WDW!” Angie believes that WDW is the most magical place for people with special diets, so, should you have any special diet questions (especially about vegan and gluten-free dining) she’d be happy to help! Angie is also an artist, and you can see her work at www.angiecarreiro.com! 

Disclaimer: This blog post, and all past and future Fish Are Friends, Not Food blog posts, are written with my most recent knowledge of the food in WDW parks. Please note that things are constantly changing, so this information might not always be up to date. Also note that I do not take into consideration refined sugar, cross contamination, or impure food items. With that said, always ask a chef before ordering if you are unsure about something, because the recipe may have changed or you may have a different way of defining your vegan lifestyle.

5 Responses to "Fish Are Friends, Not Food: Dole Whips Are Now Vegan!!"

  1. Terry Garvey says:

    That is unbelievably awesome news! Like I needed another reason to make the trip down to WDW. Thanks for the great news, keep up the great work.
    Terry

  2. Steamboat Eddie says:

    Very cool news, now many more folks can enjoy the legendary Dole Whip!

    Have an awesome day!!

  3. CriesDuringWishes says:

    Your enthusiasm in this post is really contagious!

  4. Billy Latta says:

    Making me excited to get a Dole Whip as soon as I’m in the Magic Kingdom in just three weeks! Love the post Angie.

  5. Nicole Lee says:

    This just made my day (read: LIFE!) I’m also a huge Disney fanatic. I am a long-time vegetarian but I recently started a vegan diet. I’m going to WDW this weekend and the ONE thing I was worried about was not being able to have a Dole Whip. I was goolging around and landed on your blog…I am BEYOND thrilled! Thank you so much for sharing this :)

Leave a Reply