Your Walt Disney World Information Station
Ask The Disney Experts Discuss benefits of AP renewal? in the Ask The Experts forums; Forgive me, I am sorta new to the AP thing. Could someone explain if there is a "benefit" to renewing my AP when it expires? As in, a discount, rather ...
    DissyLove is offline Wendy's real. I've seen her, so don't even start with me.

benefits of AP renewal?

Forgive me, I am sorta new to the AP thing. Could someone explain if there is a "benefit" to renewing my AP when it expires? As in, a discount, rather than letting the AP run out and then renewing it when I know I can use it again later in the year? I just didn't get that info from Disney clear, so thanks. Also, are there "regular" discounts I can count on (I know occasional resort discounts, etc...) Thanks, I am still learning about this AP thing, and all the Disney website said was "here are current dicounts...." which I already knew! Thanks!
    I am in need of some Disney magic!!

DisneyonaDime is offline Moderator
    The only benefit is getting a discount on the new pass. This could be a good deal if you lived close to Disney and would go at all times of the year without fail.

The downside to renewing a pass is you could lose some valuable time. Our Annual Passes expired in February and we did not renew them because we aren't going back until November. If we renewed our passes in January, our pass would really only be good for several months instead of a year. When you renew your Annual Pass, it is activated immediately.

By waiting until November, we will spend a little bit more, but we will have the benefit of using it for an additional 12 months.

I wouldn't renew unless your plans put you back in Disney World within a month of your first Annual Pass expiring. The discount is only 10%. I hope that cleared up some of your questions. I might have just confused you even more.