Your Walt Disney World Information Station
Ask The Disney Experts Discuss Magic Kingdom Flag retreat in the Ask The Experts forums; Hi everyone, This is my first time posting and I have a question about the flag retreat ceremony at Magic Kingdom. I read in Celebrations that Disney invites vets to ...
    nikmil is offline A-Ticket holder

Magic Kingdom Flag retreat

Hi everyone,
    This is my first time posting and I have a question about the flag retreat ceremony at Magic Kingdom. I read in Celebrations that Disney invites vets to help with the ceremony. My husband is an Air Force retiree, but he is not the lover of Disney that our kids and I are. So I was hoping to surprise him by getting him signed up to help with the ceremony when we go in September. So my question is does anyone know what time they do that so I can make sure our dining reservations don't conflict with it and will they let me sign him up without his knowledge? And any tips on getting a better chance of getting him chosen to participate? Any help would be greatly appreciated! Thanks!

dwdiva is offline A-Ticket holder

Re: Magic Kingdom Flag retreat

Oh... This is possibly one of my favorite Disney memories...
    Here is our story:
    My husband is a former Army Ranger. We were married last March, and have a combined total of 4 kids. In lieu of a traditional honeymoon, we took a family- moon to Disney. I wanted to create a magical moment for each person while we were there, and the flag retreat was what I chose for my husband.
    After driving overnight to Disney,and having a short nap in the morning, we arrived at Magic Kingdom for rope drop, with a very tired husband! I was a little antsy, because I knew the process for getting him signed up for the honored veteran of the day was pretty much reliant on luck and pixie dust...but it was beautiful!