Your Walt Disney World Information Station
Guests with Special Needs Discuss Make A Wish for JoJo Dabacco in the Vacation Planning forums; Today I had a great experience with JoJo Dabacco, a Make-A-Wish child and his family. I am a retired Marine Cobra pilot and work at Marine Corps Air Station New ...
    NC_WDW_Daddy is offline Annual Passholder

Make A Wish for JoJo Dabacco

Today I had a great experience with JoJo Dabacco, a Make-A-Wish child and his family. I am a retired Marine Cobra pilot and work at Marine Corps Air Station New River, NC as a flight simulator instructor for USMC AH-1W Cobra Pilots.

JoJo has terminal skeletal cancer and the doctors feel that he only has a few months left to live. JoJo's dad is a former Marine and asked if the Air Station and neighbor Camp Lejeune could provide a Marine experience for his son. Yesterday, JoJo and his family rode tanks, armored vehicles, and participated in other Marine training at Camp Lejeune. Today, JoJo toured some of the aircraft then came by the simulator to fly the Cobra. We set him up with plenty of targets and rockets. He, and his family, had a great time. It sure was great to be a part of the visit and your heart just goes out to this poor boy. Except for no hair, you would never know he had anything wrong as he was excited and energetic about everything.

It was no trip to WDW, but it was a great experience for the family. Please keep JoJo and his family in your prayers.

dizneluver is offline C-Ticket Holder
    WAY TO FAR AWAY FROM EITHER DISNEYLAND OR DISNEY WORLD :( (Colorado) :)

Re: Make A Wish for JoJo Dabacco

((((((HUGS))))))))))

Thanks for sharing this story!!!

And I dont care that it wasnt totally Disney related!!!!

Make A Wish (MAW) does GREAT stuff for kids and families living with life threatening illnesses...and if a MAW child wishes to hang out with Marines...who am I or anybody else to judge that wish one way or another.