Your Walt Disney World Information Station
Photo Gallery and Contests Discuss Photography Tips in the Multimedia - Audio, Video, Photos and more! forums; I thought that it'd be nice to create a thread where people could share tips, tricks, or techniques favored while taking pictures in Disney. These could range from locations for ...
    Jacknife is offline A-Ticket holder

Photography Tips

I thought that it'd be nice to create a thread where people could share tips, tricks, or techniques favored while taking pictures in Disney. These could range from locations for the best views, to something as technical as ways to manage lighting levels for the perfect shots.

Several people have asked what techniques I've used to take some of the shots in my gallery. I'll attempt to describe some of the things I do within this post, but please understand that I am not a professional photographer nor have I ever had any type of formal training. I'm just your average Joe with the typical point-n-shoot digital camera. I hope that this thread will spark interest with some of the resident photography professionals, and that they'll be willing to share some truly useful tips.

What camera should I use?
    I thought that I'd start off by attempting to address one of the obvious questions that could be posed. Unfortunately there is no easy answer for this question. Think of cameras at types of cars for a moment. One person may have a cheap beat-up Pinto and be very happy with the results. Yet another person may want/need some of the features of some higher priced sports coupe. Short of spending several thousand dollars on a camera, it's likely that you won't be able to find one that does everything that you want.