Your Walt Disney World Information Station
Trip Reports & Member Reviews Discuss WDW Lover Takes On Disneyland! in the Vacation Planning forums; Hope it's ok, given that this is site for all things of "the World" to talk about the Land. I just found it interesting to compare the two different resorts ...
    CaptainFiz13 is offline A-Ticket holder
    Winfield, IL (about 35 min west of Chicago)

WDW Lover Takes On Disneyland!

Hope it's ok, given that this is site for all things of "the World" to talk about the Land. I just found it interesting to compare the two different resorts as I was there.

Travel dates: Nov. 1 – 8 Palm Desert, CA – drove up to DL the 5th & 6th.
    Cast of characters: Bart: 33, Wendy: 34, Sean: (almost) 2, D: (my stepdad) 55, Mom: 56.
    Disney Resort Experience Represented in Group: Bart & Wendy: Lots of WDW exp – first trip to DL, D went once before, 45 years ago. Mom once in mid-90’s

Hi all. Let me warn you in advance I’m a writer and get wordy so this will be a long one. Hard to believe how much I can write about a one day visit, but then again, I'm Irish. I have decided to break it up into more digestable portions, but that said, you’ve been warned. If you’re up for it, please keep your hands and feet in the vehicle at all times and enjoy the ride!

Part 1: Getting there.

My parents have been members of the Marriot Vacation Club since the mid-80’s and for many years would go to Palm Desert once a year. Due my mom’s health issues (major back surgery 6 years ago and 3 (yes 3) hip replacements in the last 5 years, they hadn’t been in a long time. So they had enough points accrued that they offered to get us a room at the resort this year as well. While the prospect of a week with my crazy folks (said in love) wasn’t ideal, we really needed a vacation. And when I saw on Google maps that it was less than 2 hours to Disneyland, I said let’s do it.