Your Walt Disney World Information Station
Vacation Planning Tips & Tricks Discuss How long in advance... in the Vacation Planning forums; Should i start planning a vacation to wdw.... Its my first trip to wdw and i want it to be something special cause im going with my fiancee... If u ...
    jr562 is offline A-Ticket holder

How long in advance...

Should i start planning a vacation to wdw....
    Its my first trip to wdw and i want it to be something
    special cause im going with my fiancee...
    If u have any special things to do there tell me about them
    SORRY ABOUT THE 2 POST IM NEW TO THIS...HAHAHA
    KEEP MOVING FORWARD

tiggerdaddy is offline A-Ticket holder

Re: How long in advance...

When are you looking at going?

kat228 is offline Fastpass Holder

I would figure out the time of year you want to go and go from there. If you're bound by school breaks (teachers) then you have to consider that the parks will be crowded. If you aren't bound by school breaks, then you want to avoid those times!

If you want to go during the Winter, early November, early December are good times to go, avoiding Thanksgiving, Pop Warner (I think the second week of December) and getting out of there by about the 22nd for Christmas crowds. The parks will be decorated for Christmas in December, they're absolutely stunning. Pop Warner isn't so bad if you have to overlap with that.

Another winter time to go would be January/February. The weather can be unpredictable as far as temperatures are concerned, but crowds are low between MLK & President's Day weekends. (Week right before President's Day is awesome.)

Generally, avoid March/April because of Easter & Spring Breaks.

If you want to go during the spring, early May is a great time to go, you'll hit the Flower & Garden Festival. If you're big Star Wars fans, the weekends during late May & early June will be Star Wars Weekends. Parks are a little more crowded, but it might be something neat if you're big fans.