Skip to content

Fish Are Friends, Not Food: Some Things You Might Think Are Vegan at WDW, But Actually AREN’T

I’ve been meaning to do this post for a while and hope to do a few more like it for each park, but the idea came to me when I was sitting in Columbia Harbor House with my oyster crackers sitting on the side of my chili, taking a breather. I noticed something I hadn’t expected on the package, “CONTAINS: MILK.” Why on Earth would they add milk to oyster crackers!? I have no idea, but there are a quite a few things in the parks like this. Let’s start with things in the Magic Kingdom:

Columbia Harbor House

  • the broccoli slaw on the Lighthouse Sandwich isn’t vegan (ask for the sanwich without, but add regular broccoli)
  • Oyster Crackers for the vegan chili – make sure you order it without because sometimes they put them on for you! Also, note that not all oyster crackers have milk added, but as of the last time I checked, the ones that WDW serves do! If you really want them, though, ask for them on the side and check the package!

Sleepy Hollow Refreshments

  • The iced coffee is pre-made with dairy-cream and cannot be ordered without!

Aloha Isle

  • Dole Whips – made with dairy (EDIT: Dole Whips are now made vegan and Disney Food Blog just announced this change! In my defense, I wrote this article BEFORE they announced it, but regardless – how PUMPED AM I!?)

Sunshine Tree Terrace

  • Citrus Swirl – no matter how much you try and convince yourselves these are healthy, they are still not vegan 🙁 They are made with dairy.

The Churro Wagon

  • Churros – made with eggs

The Main Street Bakery and other locations with baked goods

  • Most baked goods aren’t vegan here, including pastries, muffins, bagels, cupcakes, etc. – they are usually made with eggs and dairy both. Ask, to be sure if you are craving something, though! And head over to Babycakes NYC in Downtown Disney!


What a disappointing post, I have to say! For a happier ending, refer to my past post about things you wouldn’t expect to be vegan at WDW, but actually ARE !


Angie has been a WDW addict since her first visit at age 8, and since then her life has never been the same! She lives in New Bedford, MA with her 3 dogs, Flip, Josie, and Hildy, where she currently owns Zen Dog Training and is a professional dog trainer.  Please join Angie every week in “Fish Are Friends, Not Food: Eating Vegan in WDW!” Angie believes that WDW is the most magical place for people with special diets, so, should you have any special diet questions (especially about vegan and gluten-free dining) she’d be happy to help! Angie is also an artist, and you can see her work at www.angiecarreiro.com! 

Disclaimer: This blog post, and all past and future Fish Are Friends, Not Food blog posts, are written with my most recent knowledge of the food in WDW parks. Please note that things are constantly changing, so this information might not always be up to date. Also note that I do not take into consideration refined sugar, cross contamination, or impure food items. With that said, always ask a chef before ordering if you are unsure about something, because the recipe may have changed or you may have a different way of defining your vegan lifestyle.