Skip to content

Fish Are Friends, Not Food: Easy Snacks to Bring into the Parks


As a vegan, I know how important it is to know what brands of different types of food are safe for me to eat. There’s a lot to be said about having a ready supply of these foods on hand when traveling, because, let’s face it, it’s really hard to find everything you like everywhere you go! WDW offers so many vegan food options in the parks, but sometimes you don’t want to search around or wait in line in the shops or food courts, so in these cases, I like to pack some snacks from home and bring them in the parks with me! I’ve written posts like this in the past, and I would love to do more, but for this post’s theme I would like to cover really mainstream brand name snacks you’ll be able to find at almost any grocery store. Lots of them even come in snack sized portions! Things like:



Nutter Butters You might not think these are vegan since they have “butter” in thename, but technically, they are! You can actually find these in the parks as well, but if you buy them ahead of time, you can get snack pack sizes for cheaper than the park sells them! Since they are smaller, they are also easier to carry with you!

OREOS A lot of non-name brand cookies like this are actually vegan, too, but if you don’t feel like checking labels to be sure, Oreos are known by the vegan community as being one of those “accidentally vegan” goodies! They sell them in snack packs for easier carry-on, too!




Kashi Pumpkin Spice Flax Bars Not all of Kashi’s bars are vegan-friendly (many have milk, and some have honey – so be on the look out if you are trying to avoid that!) But this flavor appears to be animal-ingredient free! This would personally be my snack of choice out of everything on this list!



Raisins These might not fill you up in the parks, but they are a great snack for kids and a better sugar-energy-boost source than resorting to the refined option in candy and cookies! Again, a snack pack size helps with easier carrying!



Animal Crackers Most brands of animal crackers are safe, even those with frosting, but always read the label to be sure! In this case, Stoffer’s Original Animal Crackers are vegan friendly and they sell them in snack packs!


Angie has been a WDW addict since her first visit at age 8, and since then her life has never been the same! She lives in New Bedford, MA with her dogs, Flip and  Josie, where she currently owns Zen Dog Training and is a professional dog trainer.  Please join Angie every week in “Fish Are Friends, Not Food: Eating Vegan in WDW!” Angie believes that WDW is the most magical place for people with special diets, so, should you have any special diet questions (especially about vegan and gluten-free dining) she’d be happy to help! Angie is also an artist, and you can see her work at www.angiecarreiro.com! 

Disclaimer: This blog post, and all past and future Fish Are Friends, Not Food blog posts, are written with my most recent knowledge of the food in WDW parks. Please note that things are constantly changing, so this information might not always be up to date. Also note that I do not take into consideration refined sugar, cross contamination, or impure food items. With that said, always ask a chef before ordering if you are unsure about something, because the recipe may have changed or you may have a different way of defining your vegan lifestyle.