Skip to content

D23 Reveals Impressive Roster of 2024 Disney Legends Honorees

D23: The Premier Disney Fan Gathering to Wrap Up with the Grand Disney Legends Awards Ceremony on Final Day

Esteemed Host Ryan Seacrest to Honor a Distinguished Group of Innovators and Icons, Including Colleen Atwood, Angela Bassett, Martha Blanding, James L. Brooks, James Cameron, Jamie Lee Curtis, Miley Cyrus, Steve Ditko, Harrison Ford, Mark Henn, Frank Oz, Kelly Ripa, Joe Rohde, and John Williams

Following a weekend filled with must-see events, D23: The Premier Disney Fan Gathering, sponsored by Visa, is set to culminate on Sunday, August 11, with the much-anticipated Disney Legends Awards Ceremony. Celebrating the creative forces that have significantly contributed to the Disney legacy, the Disney Legends Award recognizes those who have daringly pushed creative boundaries, challenged the norm, and pursued excellence and innovation. The event is scheduled for 5 p.m. at the Honda Center in Anaheim, California.

“Being named a Disney Legend represents the pinnacle of acknowledgment from our company, an honor bestowed upon those whose contributions have secured them a lasting place in our lore,” stated Bob Iger, CEO of The Walt Disney Company. “This year, we are thrilled to honor fourteen individuals as Disney Legends, each of whom has made significant creative contributions to the Disney universe. We eagerly anticipate celebrating their achievements at D23: The Premier Disney Fan Gathering.”

This year’s honorees are a diverse group of individuals who have made their mark across various sectors of Disney. Ryan Seacrest, renowned for his work on American Top 40, American Idol, and ABC’s Dick Clark’s New Year’s Rockin’ Eve, will lead the 2024 Disney Legends Awards Ceremony. The ceremony promises an unforgettable experience, featuring heartfelt tributes to the honorees, appearances by special guests, spectacular performances, and an unparalleled production.

The Disney Legends Awards, a tradition of The Walt Disney Company for 37 years, began with the recognition of Fred MacMurray in 1987. The awards ceremony is a highlight among the many exciting offerings at the three-day D23: The Premier Disney Fan Gathering in August 2024.

The 2024 honorees for the Disney Legends Award are:

COLLEEN ATWOOD: A master of costume design, Colleen Atwood has brought to life the wardrobe of numerous iconic films, earning four Oscars® for her work. Her collaborations with Tim Burton, including on Disney’s Alice in Wonderland and Dumbo, showcase her ability to blend fantasy with fashion.

ANGELA BASSETT: Renowned for portraying strong female characters, Angela Bassett’s roles span from Queen Ramonda in the Black Panther films to Tina Turner, for which she won a Golden Globe®. Her recent Academy Award nomination for Black Panther: Wakanda Forever underscores her enduring talent.

MARTHA BLANDING: Breaking barriers at Disneyland Resort, Martha Blanding served as the first permanent full-time Black Tour Guide, later becoming a pioneering figure in management and merchandise events. Her contributions have enriched the Disneyland experience for both guests and cast members.

JAMES L. BROOKS: A titan in both television and film, James L. Brooks is celebrated for his work on The Simpsons and his directorial debut with Terms of Endearment, earning three Oscars. His storytelling blends comedy with depth, leaving a lasting impact on audiences.

JAMES CAMERON: An acclaimed filmmaker and environmental advocate, James Cameron’s directorial efforts include some of the highest-grossing films of all time. His work on Titanic and the Avatar series has garnered multiple Oscars and global acclaim.

JAMIE LEE CURTIS: From her early days as a “Scream Queen” to her recent Academy Award win for Best Supporting Actress, Jamie Lee Curtis has demonstrated her versatility across a range of genres, making significant contributions to film and literature.

MILEY CYRUS: Starting her career on Disney Channel’s Hannah Montana, Miley Cyrus has become an influential singer, songwriter, and actress. Her recent Grammy wins and her role in shaping pop culture highlight her status as a Disney Legend.

STEVE DITKO: Co-creator of Spider-Man and a visionary in the comics industry, Steve Ditko’s work has defined many of Marvel’s iconic characters, leaving a lasting legacy in storytelling and imagination.

HARRISON FORD: Known for his roles as Han Solo and Indiana Jones, Harrison Ford’s contributions to cinema have made him one of the most iconic action heroes of all time, celebrated with numerous awards and accolades.

MARK HENN: A Disney animator responsible for bringing to life characters such as Ariel and Simba, Mark Henn’s work has shaped the animation industry, earning him recognition and awards for his contributions.

FRANK OZ: As a director, performer, and creator, Frank Oz has contributed to some of the most beloved films and

characters in entertainment, from Yoda in Star Wars to Miss Piggy in The Muppet Show. His directorial work includes classics like Little Shop of Horrors and The Muppets Take Manhattan, showcasing his versatility and creativity.

KELLY RIPA: A prominent figure in media, Kelly Ripa has entertained and engaged audiences as the co-host of Live with Kelly and Ryan. Her production company, Milojo Productions, has created acclaimed documentaries, further solidifying her influence in the entertainment industry.

JOE ROHDE: A visionary in themed entertainment design, Joe Rohde’s leadership and creativity have shaped Disney’s Animal Kingdom Theme Park and other projects, blending storytelling with immersive experiences and conservation.

JOHN WILLIAMS: With a career that has profoundly impacted film music, John Williams’ compositions for Star Wars, Indiana Jones, and countless other films have earned him five Academy Awards and numerous other honors, making his music synonymous with cinematic history.

Recipients of the Disney Legends Award are honored with a two-foot-tall bronze sculpture, symbolizing the imagination, creativity, and magic they have contributed to the company. The honorees will also leave their handprints in a ceremony, with these prints displayed at the Disney Legends Plaza at the company’s Burbank headquarters.

With this year’s class, the total number of Disney Legends reaches 318, joining the ranks of previous honorees like Tim Allen, Sir Elton John, and Robin Williams, among many others.

About D23: The Ultimate Disney Fan Event Presented by Visa D23: The Ultimate Disney Fan Event, sponsored by Visa, offers an unparalleled multi-day experience celebrating Disney’s legacy of storytelling and innovation. The 2024 event promises to be more immersive and expansive, featuring showcases, sneak peeks, performances, and more. For updates, visit the official site and follow D23 on social media platforms using the hashtag #D23.

About D23: D23 honors the year 1923, when Walt Disney embarked on his journey to Hollywood, marking the beginning of the Disney legacy. As the company’s official fan club, D23 provides members with a closer connection to the magic of Disney through exclusive experiences, offers, and the quarterly publication Disney twenty-three. Memberships are available at various levels, including a complimentary General Membership. Follow D23 on social media for the latest news and events.